‘I wanna experience your depth and get lost with you’

I wanna get dirt under my nails and in between my toes.
Sun on my face, more freckles on my nose.

I wanna be on paths I haven’t walked before.
Touch rocks undisturbed and grass uncut.

I want adventure and risk and the unknown.
You whisper you can show me, you lay the path before me.

I wanna get my feet messy, wear holes into my soles.
I wanna experience your depth and get lost with you,
within you, near you and by you.

Am I ready? I hardly know.
I press my fingers into the glistening green sponge that encases your bark.
Something that tells your story,
Even though it’s not theirs to tell.

Is this who I’ve become, someone else’s story?

 

Leave a Reply

