Americorps and Charlotte, NC

This last week was the first time I have found myself in the South. I traveled to Charlotte, North Carolina for a Pre-Service Orientation (PSO) for my new position as an Americorps VISTA with Habitat for Humanity! I am overly excited!

Before my PSO I was a little bit skeptical, not sure what I was getting myself into. However, while there I met people from all walks of life and got to hear their personal stories and what makes them want to Volunteer In Service To America, (VISTA). My outlook as of late has been a little bit more skeptical than usual and I can only blame myself. This opportunity to put others before myself is exactly what I need. Both to grow as an individual as well as a professional and also to help with putting myself out there and being vulnerable.

While in Charlotte I met a lot of really great people. My roommate being one of them. I’m pretty sure we were meant to find each other. She was just slightly a party animal but it all worked out. When I felt like crap the following day in our classes I just had to remind myself of the good time we had the night before.

The first night we went out we ended up at a neat little dive bar called Smokey Joe’s. It had one old man playing two different guitars simultaneously filling the
place up with soulful music. Ping pong and darts outside and swinging wood benches. The last night we went out we ended up in down town Charlotte. I’m thinking the neighborhood we were in was called Noda, because it was everywhere including snapchat filters. We wound up going to three different bars and staying up till 4:30 in the morning. Open mic was happening at one of them and to hear the locals sing their heart out is always magical. I ate alligator bites for the first time. Literally, tastes like chicken. I felt like I was eating popcorn chicken.

img_8300

All in all I had a great experience in the South. I would go back in a heart beat. And I am stoked to begin working with Habitat for Humanity.

Leave a Reply

