Take a Drive and Get Lost

Yesterday I decided I’d some exploring. I typically do  lot of driving around and finding of the back roads. But since my new job doesn’t start for another week I haven’t had the funds to just get out and go. I had a full tank of gas though and I just had to do something. So I hopped in my car and headed towards the mountain.

I only live a couple of hours from Mt. Rainier now. I’ve been there before with my dad a few years ago on one of our road trips. It was one of my favorite places to camp. Unfortunately  yesterday there was not a single spec of blue sky. Rain, rain, rain. I didn’t really expect anything less since it has been raining for the past couple days….and it’s winter in the Pacific North West. That usually means rain.
I drove around for about 4 hours in total. Had myself my own mini road trip, complete with cliff bars and mandarin oranges. I made it to the Nisqually entrance of the park. I didn’t want to spend the $25 to get in since it was so overcast you couldn’t see the mountain even though it was right in front of your face. Plus I wanted to be home before my boyfriend got home from work. I did make a pit stop at Alder Lake to stretch my legs. I tried to get a photo of the lake because it was beautiful in the storm but it was one of those things where you just had to be there. dscn0595The wind was fierce and the rain relentless.
The drive wasn’t about finding a destination though. It was to explore. To go on a drive and pump up the tunes. To get lost for a little while. These drives have often in the past been my time to unwind.

This drive in particular has me excited for some rays of sunshine and blue skies so I can enjoy the view without being pelted in the face. 🙂

Leave a Reply

