The Best Front Door I’ve Ever Had

front-door

Is this not the most delightful front door you’ve ever seen? Welcome to Buena Onda, a charming hostel literally steps away from the Pacific Ocean in Mexico’s southern state Oaxaca. It was a treat to stay in such a place with my girl Tee. She is from Australia and since I don’t make the six figures that we all dream about I couldn’t afford the plane ticket to go visit her. She told me pick anywhere in South America and we are there….well I couldn’t afford those tickets either. So Mexico it was! I don’t regret it in the slightest. We didn’t do the resort cities where the Americans are in the plenty, and for that I am thankful. After exploring Mexico City for a few days we took a short flight down to Puerto Escondido and had a bit of our own tropical paradise, which was a nice change of scenery from the hustle and bustle of the city.

I am from Oregon, so in other words the west coast where the ocean temperatures are not very inviting to say the least. Don’t get me wrong the

d20161001_163658

Sands of Puerto Escondido beaches

West Coast is the best coast still in my book. But being able to walk out my door and feel the sand in
-between my toes first thing in the morning and take a three minute walk to the ocean where it was the temperature of a comfortable bath. SCORE! I was in heaven. It was hard to get me out of the water and thankfully there was a German girl that was having the same experience. When we weren’t lounging in the hammocks with cold Coronas in hand or eating tacos at the restaurant down the street, you’d find us in the water…well me at least. However, when I did need a break it was the little things that were making me happy, literally.The sand was gorgeous, then again I am easy to please.

Besides the beautiful beaches and the warm welcoming people, Puerto Escondido has a lot to offer. Have you ever swam in bioluminescent water? Neither had I until we visited Laguna de Manialtepec. This lake is fed by surrounding hot springs, so if I thought the ocean was good,  this was like jumping into a 80°F  bath tub. Do the night tour if you want to see the glowing microorganisms up close and personal, and by that I mean swim with them! The tour guides do their bit in both Spanish and English, so if your Spanish is not up to par don’t fret. After the educational bit is done you get to jump out of the boat into glowing waters with the wide open sky and sparkling stars above you. It was almost too good to be true.

They also have baby sea turtle send offs and a variety of other attractions. I could go on and on about my experiences here but if I have a bit of advice for your travels to this beautiful paradise it is to relax and enjoy! If a good looking young Mexican rides by on a horse and asks you if you want a ride, go for it! (I did). If you hear of a salsa dance party at the local club, go and get your dance on! The hostel we stayed in, and I imagine all the others, made it easy to not only to befriend the other guests but also the locals. And let me tell you the people made the place even more spectacular than it already was.

If you’re planning a trip to Mexico or want to get out of the country for a bit at a reasonable price consider Puerto Escondido. You won’t be sorry!

Leave a Reply

